Troy High School

Skip to main content
Students » Student Accolades and Awards 2017-2018

Student Accolades and Awards 2017-2018

 Kelley Liu  has been named a 2018 National YoungArts Foundation (YoungArts) Finalist in Writing, the organization’s highest honor.
Congratulations to Esha Ghosalkar! She was awarded the Governor’s Service award for Outstanding Volunteering work.

Harikrishnan Sanil of Grade-10 had participated in the University of Toronto Model United Nations Conference, held in Toronto, Canada from Feb-08 through Feb-11. This year's conference was attended by nearly 1000 delegates from three continents. Hari was the Chinese Ambassador at the UN Security Council, working with other nations to adopt a two-state solution between Turks and Kurds and negotiating disarmament of biological weapons. Hari performed very well on all four days and won the "Best Delegate Award". The criteria for the award are: presentation skills, leadership quality, knowledge of topic, quality of contribution to debate, adherence to rules of procedure and country policy, quality of resolution, directive drafting and composure. Hari received a certificate along with a gavel and sound block at an Award Ceremony at University of Toronto.


Jonathan Wang, freshman, has recently qualified for the 2018 Junior Olympic Fencing National Championships this February in Memphis! Congratulations Jonathan! The Troy United Figure Skating Team had their second competition this week at the Suburban Macomb Ice Rink.  The team medaled in five of their six competitions, taking second place in two events and third in three others. Currently the B team is in first place in the division. Their next competition is in February.


We were thrilled to learn that six THS juniors have achieved perfects scores on the ACT test! Congratulations to Nathaniel Drasovean, David Kuang, Yongjin Nam, Finsam Samson, Yujie Wang, and Jason Zhang.


We had an absolutely amazing day at District Competition for DECA this past Saturday at Lake Orion High School. 71 students competed representing Troy High and 64 out of 71 qualified to move on to State Conference & Competition at Cobo Center in mid-March. 


We also had 41 of those students “Sweep” - which means they won every medal possible in their category (test score medal, role play score medal and state qualifying medal).


Grand totals for Troy High DECA:

  • State Qualifier Medals: 64
  • Yellow Ribbon Medals (role play score medals): 59
  • Blue Ribbon Medals (test score medals): 48

Go Colts!!!


“Sweep” Students (state qualifier medalist, test score medalist, role play score medalist):

  • Zahra Ahmad
  • Robert Banas
  • Nisha Bhargava
  • Danielle Boyer
  • Anna Fairman
  • Quinn Favret
  • Vedaant Garg
  • Shruti Gomer
  • Kenny Gu
  • Griffin Hendren
  • Frank Huang
  • Kolin Jaku
  • Runxuan Jiang
  • Alondra Kannu
  • Sema Khraishi
  • Angela Li
  • Demitra Loucopoulus
  • Raghav Maini
  • Clare McAuliffe
  • Erin McManus
  • Collin McManus
  • Ishan Mehta
  • Caitlyn Moon
  • Brian Oh
  • Hafsa Qureshi
  • Saloni Singhal
  • Michael Song
  • Alanah Soriano
  • Emily Stabinsky
  • Marina Sun
  • Abhi Thirupathi
  • Evan Tondera
  • Malavika Vengilatt
  • Muyang Wang
  • Kaylee Won
  • Jennifer Won
  • Rachel Wu
  • Jayson Your
  • Jahow Yu
  • Kevin Zhang
  • Annette Zhao


Additional State Qualifying Students + Several Medaling in 1 Yellow/Blue as well (indicated):

  • Samay Achar
  • Apoorva Akalankam (yellow)
  • Akarsh Alapati (yellow)
  • Ethan Alexander (yellow)
  • Ali Armin (yellow)
  • Adam Basa (yellow)
  • Ella Brandenberg (yellow)
  • Isabella Cueny (yellow)
  • Taylor Davis
  • Ryan Dong (yellow)
  • Dheeraj Kakulavarum (blue)
  • Nate Kovacs (blue)
  • Min Lee (yellow)
  • Catherine Manceor (yellow)
  • Lily Renke (yellow)
  • Kate Rivers (yellow)
  • Gabriela Rowe (yellow)
  • Tessy Sheko (yellow)
  • Sid Soni (blue)
  • Anshula Sundram (yellow)
  • Julia Thomson (yellow)
  • Miah Tompkins (yellow) 
  • Madeline Trumbauer (yellow)


Navneet Ramaduri, Swarith Reddy and Silas Yang all medaled for test scores and/or role play scores, but unfortunately did not qualify for state competition. 
Congratulations to Jessica Chen, Felix Liang, Kevin Xu, Tiffany Xu, Marcus Chung, and Jessica You. All placed in their paino divisions at the annual MAC Open Fall Classic Competition held at the Evola Music Center in Shelby Township on November 4-5, 2017.

THS has 9 Siemens semi-finalists this year. The Siemens Competition is one is the most prestigious research competitions. The finalists will be announced soon. Here is the website, the list is an attachment on the bottom:


THS has 3 siemens finalists!

Congratulations to Nicholas Gajewski (11th Grade/Junior). He bowled a 300 on Saturday 12/9/2017.

2016 - 2017 National Youth Arts Awards Announcement


As some of you may know, the Troy Theatre Ensemble enters our 2 shows each school year in the National Youth Arts Awards competition.  The results of the 12th Annual National Youth Arts Awards for the 2016-2017 season were just released, and the Troy Theatre Ensemble earned 3 awards and 11 additional nominations!



Lead Actor in a Musical: Tyler Bouque as Sky Masterson in Guys and Dolls

Lead Actress in a Musical: Raagini Chandra as Miss Adelaide in Guys and Dolls 

Costume Design: Michael A. Gravame for Guys and Dolls



Lead Actor in a Musical: Sean Hodges as Nathan Detroit in Guys and Dolls

Lead Actress in a Musical: Annie Rowbal as Sarah Brown in Guys and Dolls

Lead Actor in a Play: Tyler Bouque as Tom Newton in Who Am I This Time?

Supporting Actor in a Play: Ibrahim Isaac as Harry Nash in Who Am I This Time?

Supporting Actress in a Play: Bianca Bucholtz as Doris Sawyer in Who Am I This Time?

Supporting Actress in a Play: Emily Lourim as Catherine in Who Am I This Time?

Supporting Actress in a Play: Annie Rowbal as Gloria in Who Am I This Time?

Supporting Actress in a Play: Stefannie Savoy as Helene Shaw in Who Am I This Time?

Ensemble: Guys and Dolls

Choreography: Molly Zaleski for Guys and Dolls

Direction: Rick Bodick for Guys and Dolls


To see the full list of winners for this ceremony, click on